Schutz vor Ransomware-Schäden

Schützen Sie Ihre Kunden vor Cyber-Erpressung.

Demo anfordern!

Wie groß sind MSPs?
MSP Best Practices

Sept. 21, 2020

Wie groß sind MSPs?

5 Arten von Social Engineering-Angriffen
BCDR Cybersecurity Saas Protection
Kunden für Managed Services gewinnen
Managed Services Best Practices Professional Services Automation Remote Monitoring & Management
Auswirkung der Mehrwertsteueränderung in Autotask PSA
Professional Services Automation

Schutz vor Ransomware-Schäden

Datto schützt Unternehmen und stellt sicher, dass sie auch bei Benutzerfehlern, schädlichen Angriffen und Compliance-Problemen stets die Kontrolle behalten.

  • WAS Was ist Ransomware?
  • WER Wer verbreitet Ransomware?
  • WIE Ransomware-Opfer?

Was ist Ransomware?

Ransomware ist schädliche Software, die Daten verschlüsselt und erst gegen eine Lösegeldzahlung wieder freigibt.

Ransomware ist eine Bezeichnung für zahlreiche Malware-Varianten, die Systeme in der Regel mithilfe von Social Engineering-Methoden infiziert.

Ein „kryptovirologischer“ Angriff verschlüsselt Systemdaten und macht sie für den Endnutzer unzugänglich. Die Täter verlangen dann ein Lösegeld (in der Regel in einer anonymen Kryptowährung wie Bitcoin) für den privaten Schlüssel, der zur Entschlüsselung und zum Zugriff auf die Daten erforderlich ist. Berüchtigte Beispiele für Ransomware sind CryptoLocker, CryptoWall, Locky, Cerber, KeyRanger, SamSam, TeslaCrypt, TorrentLocker und Reveton. Manchmal manipuliert Ransomware die Daten anders, um sie z.B. dauerhaft zu löschen oder im Internet zu veröffentlichen.

Wer verbreitet Ransomware?

Cyber-Kriminelle, die davon profitieren, Unternehmen zu bedrohen, die abhängig von ihren geschäftskritischen Daten sind.

Cyber-Kriminelle, die Ransomware verbreiten, handeln organisiert und gewinnorientiert. Schätzungen zufolge verdienen Kriminelle mit Ransomware-Angriffen 10 bis 50 Millionen US-Dollar pro Monat. In Gruppen entwickeln sie die gefährliche und getarnte Schadsoftware, um kleine und mittlere Unternehmen zu infizieren.

Die Kriminellen sind geschäftsorientiert und innovativ. Vor Kurzem wurde ein auf Ransomware-as-a-Service spezialisierter Ring von Cyber-Kriminellen entdeckt. Die Kriminellen infizierten im Juli 2016 rund 150.000 Opfer in 201 Ländern mit Ransomware. Die Gewinne teilten sie sich folgendermaßen auf: 40 % für die Malware-Entwickler und 60 % für diejenigen, die neue Ziele entdeckten.

Der Aufwand ist gering, die Gewinne sind hoch, der Bitcoin als Zahlungsmittel ist anonym, die Liste der Ziele ist endlos, die Technologie ist erschreckend einfach, und die Chancen, erwischt zu werden, sind gering. Ransomware-Täter sind raffinierte, gewinngierige Cyber-Kriminelle, die stets auf der Suche nach angreifbaren Unternehmen und Opfern sind.

Kann mein Unternehmen Opfer eines Ransomware-Angriffs werden?

Klare Antwort: Ja.

Ransomware-Täter sind sehr erfolgreich. Sie haben es gerne gezielt auf kleine und mittlere Unternehmen mit IT-Sicherheitslücken und deren wertvolle Daten abgesehen.

Wenn Ihr Unternehmen auf seine Daten angewiesen ist, sind Sie ein Ziel.

Um Ihre Systeme zu infizieren, senden die Hacker zum Beispiel gefälschte eMails an Ihre Mitarbeiter, die täuschend echt aussehen. Da 94 % der Menschen nicht zwischen einer echten eMail und einer Phishing-eMail unterscheiden können, gelangt die Schadsoftware so in Ihre Systeme. Falls das beim ersten Versuch nicht gelingt, versuchen die Hacker es so lange, bis jemand auf den gefährlichen Link klickt.

Lösungen

Datto SIRIS

Unabhängig von der Variante des Ransomware-Angriffs schützt Datto SIRIS physische, virtuelle und cloudbasierte Infrastrukturen und Daten.

Erfahren Sie mehr über SIRIS

Datto SaaS Protection

Selbst wenn Ransomware Ihre Daten in cloudbasierten Anwendungen wie Office 365 oder Google Apps beschädigt, stellt Datto SaaS Protection die für Ihr Unternehmen wichtigen Daten wieder her.

Erfahren Sie mehr über SaaS Protection

"Datto founder Austin McChord talks about cybersecurity and why he turned down an eight-figure offer for his company."

(Source Bloomberg)

Austin Mcchord

Founder, Datto

3 Maßnahmen gegen Ransomware

Die beste Strategie gegen Cyber-Erpressung umfasst drei Maßnahmen: Aufklärung, Virenschutz und ein umfassender Schutz Ihrer Daten.

Aufklärung

Schulungen zum Thema Ransomware informieren Mitarbeiter über die Gefahren von Social Engineering-Methoden und Phishing und klären sie darüber auf wie sie sicher mit E-Mail-Anhängen umgehen. Vor menschlichen Fehlern sind Sie dagegen jedoch noch nicht hundertprozentig geschützt. Schulungen allein sind daher kein ausreichender Schutz vor Ransomware.

Antivirus

Die zweite Maßnahme gegen Ransomware ist Antiviren-Schutz. Wenn auf einen infizierten Link geklickt wird oder ein Anhang mit Trojaner heruntergeladen wird, rettet ein Antivirus-Programm ein System oft vor einer vollständigen Infizierung. Allerdings werden immer schneller neue Ransomware-Varianten programmiert, vor denen Antiviren-Programme nicht sofort schützen können. Die Wahrscheinlichkeit einer erfolgreichen Infizierung ist somit hoch.

Umfassender Schutz der Daten

Ein Werkzeug für den Schutz von Daten ist innerhalb einer mehrstufigen Abwehrstrategie das ultimative Sicherheitsnetz. Dabei werden Snapshots Ihrer Daten und Systeme angefertigt und an einem geschützten Ort gesichert. Falls Sie Opfer einer Ransomware-Attacke werden, haben Sie die Möglichkeit, die „Zeit zurückzudrehen“ und somit den Zustand der Daten unmittelbar vor dem Ransomware-Angriff zu erhalten.

Testimonials

“Our end users get peace of mind because they know their Datto SIRIS is protecting them. We always tell our customers that it’s a great insurance policy. When you do need to use it, you will be very thankful that you have a Datto SIRIS.”

Mark Calzone

Mark Calzone

President, Ash Creek Enterprises

“SIRIS and the Datto backup solutions have become a profit center for us and given us peace of mind that we have never experienced.“

Hoyt Hagens

Hoyt Hagens

Vice President, ProMission Projects, Inc

Bloomberg on Ransomware Protection

Datto founder Austin McChord talks about cybersecurity and the threat of ransomware to businesses of any size.

Ransomware Protection

Safeguard your clients with a secret weapon in the war on cyber extortion.

Demo it today

Ransomware
Business Continuity Cybersecurity Ransomware
Office 365 Backup Ransomware SaaS Protection
Ransomware SaaS Protection

Ransomware Protection

At the cost of sacrificing protection and control. Datto protects businesses and ensures control and ownership remain undisputed in cases of user error, malicious attacks, compliance issues, and user management

  • What What is Ransomware?
  • Who Who are Ransomware perpetrators?
  • How Ransomware victims?

What is Ransomware?

Malicious software that locks your files and demands payment to access them.

  • Ransomware is defined as a term for the many variations of malware that infect computer systems, typically by social engineering schemes.
  • A cryptovirology attack encrypts critical files and systems and renders them inaccessible to the owner.
  • Ransomware sometimes marks the files for permanent deletion or publication on the internet. The perpetrators then demand a payment (usually in untraceable cryptocurrency like Bitcoin) for the private key required to decrypt and access the files. Infamous ransomware examples include CryptoLocker, CryptoWall, Locky, Cerber, KeyRanger, SamSam, TeslaCrypt, TorrentLocker, and Reveton.

Who are Ransomware Perpetrators?

Cybercriminals who profit greatly by violating businesses that rely on data as a lifeblood.

Ransomware cybercriminals are organized and profitable. It is estimated that this type of attack earns criminals $10 million to $50 million per month.

There are entire ransomware outfits working out of office buildings, making the stealthy and disruptive pieces of malicious software, and designing deceptively simple schemes to infiltrate small to medium sized businesses.

The criminals are business-minded innovators. Recently, a Ransomware-as-a-Service organized cybercrime ring was discovered, which infected around 150,000 victims in 201 countries in July 2016; splitting profits 40% to malware authors and 60% to those who discover new targets.

The overhead is low, the profits are high, the Bitcoin is anonymous, the list of targets is endless, the technology is not overly complicated, and the odds of getting caught are low. Ransomware perpetrators are sophisticated, profit-hungry, cybercriminals on the lookout for unsuspecting SMBs to violate.

Could my business be a Ransomware victim?

In a word: Yes.

Ransomware perpetrators cast a wide net. They target small to medium sized businesses with IT security loopholes, valuable data, and a modest budget to pay the ransom.

If data is important to your business, you are a target.

To get in to your systems, they may send a phishing email to your staff. Because 94% of people can’t distinguish between a real email and a phishing email 100% of the time, they get in. And if they don’t, they try again until someone somewhere clicks the link.

Solutions

Datto SIRIS

No matter what or where the cybercriminals target, SIRIS will protect physical, virtual, and cloud infrastructures and data.

Learn about SIRIS

Datto SaaS Protection

Even if ransomware damages your data on cloud-based applications like Office 365 or Google Apps, using Datto SaaS Protection easily recovers the data that is the lifeblood of your business.

Learn about SaaS Protection

"Datto CEO Austin McChord talks about cybersecurity and why he turned down an eight-figure offer for his company."

(Source Bloomberg)

Austin Mcchord

Chief Executive Officer, Datto

3 Layers of Protection from Ransomware

The proven defense strategy against cyber extortion includes three protection layers: Education, Antivirus, and Total Data Protection.

Education

A ransomware prevention program teaches users of company email or hardware about the dangers of social engineering and phishing and explains good security practices about email attachments. However, even the most educated staff members are not immune to human error. Education, on its own, is not adequate ransomware protection.

Antivirus

The second layer of ransomware defense is antivirus protection. If a malicious link is clicked or a Trojan-containing attachment is downloaded, antivirus will often save a system from full-blown infection. However, new strains of ransomware are being created at a rate higher than antivirus can protect against them, so eventually, the probability that one infection will succeed is high.

Total Data Protection

A data protection solution provides the ultimate failsafe in a layered defense strategy. It will take snapshots of your data and systems and store them in a secure location. If you fall victim to ransomware, you can simply ‘turn back the clock’ to a snapshot before the attack happened.

Testimonials

“Our end users get peace of mind because they know their Datto SIRIS is protecting them. We always tell our customers that it’s a great insurance policy. When you do need to use it, you will be very thankful that you have a Datto SIRIS.”

Mark Calzone

Mark Calzone

President, Ash Creek Enterprises

“SIRIS and the Datto backup solutions have become a profit center for us and given us peace of mind that we have never experienced.“

Hoyt Hagens

Hoyt Hagens

Vice President, ProMission Projects, Inc

Bloomberg on Ransomware Protection

Datto CEO Austin McChord talks about cybersecurity and the threat of ransomware to businesses of any size.